Bolton Impact Trust – Trustees

Keith Davies

Chair of Trustees

Keith is a retired director from Bolton Council, who was responsible for bringing significant investment into the town over his time with the Council. Projects that he led over his 14 years with the Council included developments at the Innovation Zone, including the new University of Bolton, Bolton College and Bolton One and the development of the Logistics North site which has brought thousands of jobs to the town. In working with partners bringing these projects to fruition he utilised his exceptional negotiation skills and abilities to identify significant risks and at the Trust he acts as the Chair of the Risk & Audit Committee.

Appointed: 1st April 2020

Term ends: 31st March 2024

Keith can be contacted via the Trust Head Office

Paul Hodgkinson

Executive Principal

Paul started working at Youth Challenge Pupil Referral Unit in 1997 and held numerous positions there. He started as a voluntary mentor before becoming a class teacher and eventually the Teacher in Charge in 2003. During his time as Teacher in Charge, Youth Challenge was twice judged to be Outstanding by Ofsted. Paul became the Manager of the Bolton Pupil Referral Service in 2010 and supervised the federation of all of Bolton’s PRUs. In 2014 he also become the Interim Executive Headteacher of Lever Park School. He worked with the staff team on a Rapid Improvement Plan which eventually resulted in the School being moved out of Special Measures in 2016.

Paul has advised the DfE, Local Authorities and Schools on Leadership, Behaviour Management Strategy, Alternative Provision funding and Governance. In 2016 he became the new Executive Principal of the Bolton Impact Trust.

Appointed: 2nd March 2016

Mike Sidebottom

Chair of Standards Committee

Mike is a secondary Headteacher within Bolton with many years of secondary leadership experience. Previously Mike has been a virtual Head ensuring positive outcomes for CLA were achieved. Mike has also advised Ofsted on championing Looked After Children. His school leadership experience is broad taking in both pastoral and standards roles.

Mike has served as the chair of governors for an outstanding school’s governing body and is currently the chair of the Standards Committee.

Appointed: 1st April 2020

Term ends: 31st March 2024

Anthony Grimshaw

Vice Chair of Trustees and Chair of Finance & Resources Committee

Anthony is a successful businessman in the building industry in Bolton, having a number of businesses within the town and a strong belief in the benefits of supporting the education of the Town’s disadvantaged pupils. As lead for the development and implementation of a number of significant building schemes within the North West, his experience in managing complex projects is used within the Trust as Chair of the Finance & Resources Committee.

Appointed: 1st April 2020

Term ends: 31st March 2024

Charles Robert Atkinson

Bob is a School Improvement Professional and education consultant working for Bolton Local Authority and in local schools.  He has been Headteacher of two Bolton secondary schools for 16 years during which time he chaired the Bolton Association of Secondary Headteachers and served on the Schools Forum.  As Chair of Governors at a local primary school and a trustee of Bolton Community Leisure Trust he continues to be actively involved local community work and developments.  Bob is also a trustee of Leverhulme Academy Church of England and Community Trust.

Appointed: 19th April 2018

Term ends: 18th April 2022

Dominic McKeon

Dominic is a Secondary Headteacher within Bolton, with a proven track record of delivering high quality education practice.  Dominic is part of the national ‘Talented Leaders’ programme and has been the PiXL North West area Leader for the last 3 years.  Through his work with PiXL Dominic has supported a number of schools in the North West to help improve outcomes for young people.  Dominic specialises in helping transform schools in challenging circumstances and sits on the School to School Improvement Board for Bolton.  Dominic has advised the DfE and training provider Ambition School Leadership on their new headship programme for heads working in challenging circumstances.  His school has recently been nominated for the Parliamentary review 2018.

Appointed: 1st April 2020

Term ends: 31st March 2024

Susan Hincks

Sue is the headmistress of Bolton School Girls’ Division, the top independent school in the North of England and a governor at Smithills School. She is currently chair of the Girls’ Schools’ Association education committee and an Independent School Inspector.  Sue has ex officio membership of the Headmasters’ Conference Academic Policy Committee and chaired the GSA/HMC Universities’ Committee. She is the President-Elect of the GSA 2019 and is also on the advisory board of the College of Teaching.

Appointed: 18th July 2018

Term ends: 17th July 2022

Kristian Franz Halliwell

Kris joins the team having spent the past 25 years working with the Automotive industry, during which time he built his experience across the major functional disciplines of marketing, sales, logistics and supply chain, procurement and quality. His has held senior management and directorship positions both in private and global parts manufacturing businesses, with a real focus on delivering business change and strategic growth.

Kris aims to bring his commercial experience to the Trust and actively help define the Trust’s 5 year strategic plan, that will enable us to increase the geographical reach of the Trust, whilst delivering sustainable ‘best in class’ educational infrastructure to disadvantaged students.

Term starts: 16th July 2019

Term ends: 15th July 2023

Allan Slater – Resigned

Allan retired from his post as Data Consultant at Ladybridge High School in July 2016 having spent over forty years working in Bolton secondary schools as a teacher of Chemistry, Head of Science, Assistant Head and Deputy Head at Rivington and Blackrod High School. In 2004 he became a key member of the Senior Leadership Team when Ladybridge High School was restarted having been in Special Measures as The Deane School. His main experience lies in the areas of Data Analysis, Assessment, Curriculum and Timetabling.

Appointed: 5th October 2016

Term ends: 16th July 2019

Mary Powell – Resigned

Mary, our former Chair of Trustees prior to her resigning, is a former secondary headteacher of an inner-city school, Mary went on to take up three Interim headships of poorly performing schools. She was a School Improvement Partner for several schools in the Greater Manchester area for a number of years. During this period, she was an NPQH trainer and assessor and had several consultancy roles supporting school leadership. She also has extensive experience of school governance and is now Chair of Bolton Impact Trust. She is currently CEO of a small trust in Bolton which runs Smithills School, overseeing it through a period of re-brokerage.

Appointed: 26th January 2016

Term ends: 16th July 2019